PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Screen freeze and has different colors-problems after upgraded to 11.04



hoboy
April 28th, 2011, 06:19 PM
I have just upgrade from 10.04.to 11.04
When I restarted after upgrade installation I got message that I didn't have the hardware to run Unity, then I clicked on ok, now ununtu start, but it is very slow to start and the screen freeze and has different color, but after while it start.
I am looking for advice to solve this problem.

gogo_t
April 28th, 2011, 06:26 PM
I have just upgrade from 10.04.to 11.04
When I restarted after upgrade installation I got message that I didn't have the hardware to run Unity, then I clicked on ok, now ununtu start, but it is very slow to start and the screen freeze and has different color, but after while it start.
I am looking for advice to solve this problem.
At the login screen choose Gnome and then when you log in just uninstall unity... I had this problem when the betta version went out. Hope to help

Hedgehog1
April 28th, 2011, 06:34 PM
You don't need to uninstall Unity - select select 'Classic with No effects':

http://img59.imageshack.us/img59/8084/loginoptions.png

Your issue can also be cause because you need the Video Driver for your GPU.

In the hardware section of system settings:

http://img820.imageshack.us/img820/7027/nattysystemsetting.png

The run additional drivers to get the current video drive if one is available.


Natty Info: Your UI options (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1741293)


The Hedge

:KS

hoboy
April 28th, 2011, 07:53 PM
Thanks guys.
but I don't have 'Classic with No effects':"
how do I get to it.

hoboy
April 29th, 2011, 02:54 PM
My problem is still not solved please somebody help

tlongren
April 29th, 2011, 03:14 PM
After clicking your username on the welcome screen there should be some options shown at the bottom. Gnome Classic (No Effects) should be listed under one of those drop downs.

I still have the same problem though, even with Gnome Classic with no effects. It's causing my machine to freeze most of the time. Sometimes I can ctrl-alt-F6 or something to get to a terminal, but sometimes the whole machine is frozen.

And I was dismayed by the inability to set custom mount points for drives during install. Previously you could enter whatever you want, but now you're restricted to the few options the installer has listed.