PDA

View Full Version : Switching?

eldonkr
April 28th, 2011, 02:48 AM
I've been using Ubuntu for almost two years now and I think it's really awesome, but I don't know anything about any of the other Linux operating systems. I've been looking into Fedora recently and I think it's really neat. Plus you can't knock the name, I've always been an aficionado of fancy hats. I'm considering making a switch to Fedora or dual booting just to try it out. Can anyone offer some advice or insight on the matter? Perhaps somebody could highlight the differences between Fedora and Ubuntu, the pros and cons and whatnot?

Thanks in advance.

ventrical
April 28th, 2011, 03:50 AM
Fedora is a smooth, rock solid ride - just like Ubuntu.. but, in my own opinion from observations , Ubuntu has a touch more vesatality when it comes to assistive technologies and also Ubuntu is the master of the USB disk !!IMO.

Also Linux Mint is tops which is an Ubuntu based distro with a flare for elegance and excellence.

Fedora presents a theme of peacfulness and security with smoother graphics edges. I also think it depends on what type of PC is being used. Fedora may very well outperform Ubuntu on faster PCs.

And then there is Knoppix!!! You ought to look into that distro also. You can do things with compiz that seem difficult on other PCs.

Have fun.

eldonkr
April 28th, 2011, 05:44 AM
That's helpful. But what I'm looking for more or less is something like

Ubuntu is different from Fedora in blah blah blah, and Fedora is good for xyz but it can't do yadda yadda yadda like Ubuntu does, but that's ok because Fedora blah blah blah.

What are features I'd find in Fedora that I wouldn't find in Ubuntu? What can Ubuntu do that Fedora doesn't? What issues will I come across using Fedora? etc ect.

Spice Weasel
April 28th, 2011, 12:35 PM
What are features I'd find in Fedora that I wouldn't find in Ubuntu? What can Ubuntu do that Fedora doesn't? What issues will I come across using Fedora? etc ect.