PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] nVidia GeForce 5200 FX installation

UbFX
April 27th, 2011, 04:55 PM
I have come across a couple of posts about this topic but none really seem to answer my question clearly. Before I start I'd like to point out that I am a complete novice to Ubuntu, so please can you not get too technical on Ubuntu specific terminoligies and features?

My computers getting on quite a few years now, it bearly gets used anymore but when it does it struggles a lot with xp. I was hoping to give it a bit more speed by installing a less taxing OS onto it and Ubuntu was my first point of call. I've seen from the website how easy it is to install or even just try out by booting it from a CD.

Here's where I encountered my problem, the CD won't boot and my motherboard doesn't support USB booting so I'm stuck! I've seen how there is a problem with my graphics card however I'm helpless in doing anything; such as booting in safe mode, if I can't even get to the installation screen?! A kernal loads up and just stops at different points every time and I don't seem to be getting anywhere!

Does anyone know the workaround to my problem, and how I can go about trying out Ubuntu from a CD boot with the current graphics card?

Thanks. ;)

(I tried with a 10.10 install, I'm guessing 11.04 won't be much different?)

mörgæs
April 27th, 2011, 05:02 PM
HI, welcome to the fora.

I have one of these graphics cards, and it works well.

First of all let's hear all hardware specifications, especially how much memory is in the machine.

UbFX
April 28th, 2011, 12:45 AM
It has as far as I can remember, Pentium 4 - 512mb Ram - (hard drive space doesn't matter on CD boot up does it, cause it has very little room at the moment), and the graphics card. Can anyone help? I was super looking forward to testing out Ubuntu aswell :(

inobe
April 28th, 2011, 12:54 AM
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/BootOptions

have a look at safe graphics mode, also check out the other options.

xd20