PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Not recognizing the HDD now

coreytrice
April 27th, 2011, 01:59 PM
I am very new to Ubuntu and any help would be greatly appreciated.

So the other day I was trying to install Ubuntu 10.10 on my wife's netbook and that went horribly wrong. I tried several different things and no joy. I eventually got the netbook to the point that it would only boot to a black screen with a white cursor and I could not do anything else. So, I ordered a USB to SATA cable and took the drive out of the netbook. Then last night I used my Ubuntu 10.04 desktop to install Ubuntu 10.04 from a LiveCD onto the netbook HDD connected with the USB to SATA cable. That worked like a charm and I've got the netbook back together and working great.

One small issue with the netbook is that it has a floppy drive in the list of system resources and I cannot get rid of it. It does not seem to matter that it is there, I just wanted to get rid of it since there is no floppy on the netbook, obviously. It must have set it up from being connected to the desktop.

The real issue is that now the desktop will not boot. In the BIOS it does not even recognize the hard drives that are in the machine. There is an 80Gb drive with Ubuntu on it and there is a 20Gb drive with nothing but files as a backup. I booted from a LiveCD and thought that I could just use GParted to format the main drive and start over. GParted does not recognize the drive either.

Please help...

psusi
April 27th, 2011, 03:44 PM
As for the floppy; you need to go into the bios and tell it you don't have one.

As for the missing hard disk; it sounds like it has gone to the great scrap heap in the sky.

dabl
April 27th, 2011, 03:50 PM