PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Will installing to a pen drive make me lose my OS and files?

Lanuk
April 25th, 2011, 09:00 PM
Okay, so I am COMPLETELY new to Ubuntu or Linux or whatever. The reason what I am getting this is because my old laptop (windows 7) can't start because of a virus. I want to wipe the hard drive and all and want Linux to boot it off of (since the current OS will be gone).

To do this I planned on downloading Linux to my working computer and putting it on a flash drive. Some kind person gave me a link on how to do this: http://www.ubuntu.com/desktop/get-ubuntu/download

Another kind person told me if I did this it would get rid of the OS and files on my current system I plan on downloading to (which I do NOT want).

I also did not really understand one of the instructions in the link... it says to install Linux and then install this other software that will allow me to put Linux on my flash drive. How would this work? Do I just download linux, put it on my desktop, and have the flash drive program thing walk me through the rest?

I am not very tech savvy as you can see. So really what I want to do is put Linux on a flash drive and boot another laptop off of the flash drive. I have 1 broken computer that won't start due to a windows 7 virus and 1 computer that works that I want to use to get linux in my flash drive but do not want to lose my current OS or files on.

Help would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

Lanuk
April 25th, 2011, 11:08 PM
I really need help on this, it is urgent!

KegHead
April 25th, 2011, 11:36 PM
Hi!

If you install a distro on a usb stick, it won't hurt any files on the host computer.

On my Dell test machine when i start it, I simply press "0" for options to run off a USB sick.

If you machine starts, you should be able to run off a usb stick, work with and learn and remove with no harm or fowl to your host computer.

KegHead

wilee-nilee
April 26th, 2011, 12:09 AM