PDA

View Full Version : How many of you upgrade your computer parts?

TheNerdAL
April 24th, 2011, 02:39 AM
Well, I've been using this computer for about 7 years or so and it's getting old. Still has a one core processor which isn't that good. It's time to up the anty(or however you say it.)

I was wondering who upgrades their computer parts instead of buying a new one?

papibe
April 24th, 2011, 02:55 AM
I would say it's really a matter of budget. But a 7 year old computer has a high rate of sudden death (sort of speak), so If you keep it, I'd suggest regular backups.

If I were you (and had the budget), I invest in a new computer and convert the one you have in a file server/media center or similar.

Regards.

wolfen69
April 24th, 2011, 03:12 AM
I build a new computer every 1 1/2-2 years whether I need it or not. I likes new shiny thingies. :)

As a matter of fact, my new parts should be here by next week. It's: AMD Quad-Core @ 3.2ghz/8gb DDR3/USB3, Sata6 Mobo/Nvidia GT430 Can't wait!

LowSky
April 24th, 2011, 03:19 AM
Well, I've been using this computer for about 7 years or so and it's getting old. Still has a one core processor which isn't that good. It's time to up the anty(or however you say it.)

I was wondering who upgrades their computer parts instead of buying a new one?

I'm in the middle of a upgrade path right now. Purchased a new motherboard, an SSD, case and a Blu-ray/DVD-RW drive. Going to use the same processor, power supply, hard drives, graphics card, and tv tuner card. My stuff isn't that old. I usually do a half upgrade every 1.5 years. then do the other half.

if the PC is 7 years old it would be more advisable to buy something newer. Finding a new processor for that motherboard isn't going to be as easy.

At best replace the motherboard and processor and if you go the cash the graphics card.

Dustin2128
April 24th, 2011, 03:46 AM
I build a new computer every 1 1/2-2 years whether I need it or not. I likes new shiny thingies. :)