PDA

View Full Version : Learning Bash is Hard !!!

mikodo
April 22nd, 2011, 06:55 AM
Hi everyone,

I am new to computers and Linux. I am 58 and work in a field that demands a knowledge of the fundamentals before mastering specialties. I actually believe to learn any subject proficiently, learning the fundamentals is a requirement.

So, in my attempt to become proficient with linux, I am studing bash commands and their arguments etc. It is not hard; but damn it is a lot of learning ....

Does any other newbies find learning the fundamentals daunting?

I guess I am just venting....

:)

Metallion
April 22nd, 2011, 07:06 AM
It was kind of hard in the beginning but I forced myself to use the command line as much as possible. Now I miss it whenever I'm in a windows environment.

Try to start with just file management in the beginning. Use tab completion as much as possible and just create/move/copy/delete files through the cli. You'll be up to speed in no time.

mikodo
April 22nd, 2011, 07:15 AM
It was kind of hard in the beginning but I forced myself to use the command line as much as possible. Now I miss it whenever I'm in a windows environment.

Try to start with just file management in the beginning. Use tab completion as much as possible and just create/move/copy/delete files through the cli. You'll be up to speed in no time.
Thanks for the advice and vote of confidence in my getting up to speed in no time. :)

Say, how are things in Japan, since the earthquake? Are things becoming OK again? Sorry, I pay little attention to the news. I of course, have heard of your country's trials though!

Mike

deconstrained
April 22nd, 2011, 07:24 AM