PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Stuttering window dragging

Adrastus
April 22nd, 2011, 04:35 AM
Hi all,

I'm fairly new to ubuntu and I've been messing around with customizing my desktop/UI over the past week or so and I must have messed something up. After I got sick of how slow Wallpapoz was to change backgrounds between workspaces (I'm using GNOME) I turned on the Wallpaper plugin in Compiz and turned off the nautilus desktop. That worked great for the backgrounds but now whenever I try to drag windows around the cursor shudders and shakes and the wondows won't move smoothly. I eventually get them to where I want them to go but it's very annoying.

So far, I have re-enabled the nautilus desktop and reinstalled nautilus with synaptic, neither of which did anything.

Has anyone had this issue and/or fixed it?

Copper Bezel
April 22nd, 2011, 05:20 AM
Like many Compiz issues, this could be a video card issue. (I'm actually surprised that the Compiz wallpaper plugin worked without tweaking on 10.10; I hadn't heard of it doing so for anyone.)

Just to clarify, you did turn off the plugin, but there was no effect and window movement was still stuttery?

Adrastus
April 22nd, 2011, 06:43 AM
I've turned off the plugin and turned back on the nautilus desktop in the gconf-editor.

And the plugin didn't work without tweaking, I had to turn off the show desktop option for nautilus.

As for a video card issue, I find that very unlikely as I'd been using my current configuration with no problems for over a month with no problems until now.

Thanks for getting back to me by the way.

Copper Bezel
April 22nd, 2011, 06:53 AM