PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Not enough space for installation?

fangslayer
April 21st, 2011, 06:20 AM
This is my first time trying out Ubuntu, and when I try to install it from the disc, it tells me it needs at least 2.6 GB of free space. Problem is, I've got 100GB of free space on my disc (ie space that's not in a partition), so I don't know how to resolve this.

Any help would be awesome

theprofessor102
April 21st, 2011, 06:23 AM
This is my first time trying out Ubuntu, and when I try to install it from the disc, it tells me it needs at least 2.6 GB of free space. Problem is, I've got 100GB of free space on my disc (ie space that's not in a partition), so I don't know how to resolve this.

Any help would be awesome

Is that just telling you that you need 2.6g or Stopping at that point, Are you picking the correct partition for the install?

fangslayer
April 21st, 2011, 06:30 AM
Is that just telling you that you need 2.6g or Stopping at that point, Are you picking the correct partition for the install?

I got that message right after clicking on install Ubuntu. It's the screen that also checks that you're connected to a power source and the internet. It's before I get to pick any partitions, and the continue button is blacked out.

Hedgehog1
April 21st, 2011, 07:31 AM
What version of Ubuntu are you trying to install? I ask because the 11.04 beta of Ubuntu is having some installers issues on yesterdays build.

If you are not installing 11.04, then please do this so we can see what is going on with your drive setup that might be confusing the installer:

Please boot off the LiveCD/LiveUSB, select 'TRY', and then:

http://bootinfoscript.sourceforge.net/
Follow the instruction on the website and post the results here.

Please press the '#' button when posting and place the the script results between the two 'CODE' tags.

The Hedge

:KS

mrgs
April 21st, 2011, 09:47 AM