PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] installation issues

kreechur
April 20th, 2011, 08:43 PM
Hello,

I'm new to Linux, and I'm trying to install Ubuntu on a PC that was home built a few years ago. It had XP on it and it ran fine, but i wanted to learn Linux, so I decided to install Ubuntu. I've tried a few different versions of Ubuntu, 10.04 and 10.10 to name a couple. 10.04 gets so far and the boxes all close and it sits there. 10.10 fails when trying to install Grub. I did get Xubuntu 9.04 to install but it fails when i do any updates/upgrades/software installation. After it fails, it will no longer boot. Just a thought I had could be incompatibility with my mother board? I have a Mercury P4VM800M7 motherboard in it now. Hard Drive is a WD Sata drive that i just purchased brand new.

Anyone have any ideas?

Quackers
April 20th, 2011, 09:58 PM
Welcome to UF.
If you boot from the live cd/usb and select "try ubuntu" does a live desktop load up ok?

kreechur
April 20th, 2011, 10:04 PM
Yes it works fine during the live session. Except it says it needs to run in low graphics mode. But yes it does run fine running on the live CD.
Thanks,

Quackers
April 20th, 2011, 10:09 PM
Ok. What exactly does this mean please?
"10.04 gets so far and the boxes all close and it sits there"
Do you mean that you can';t click on the "forward" box? What screen is showing at the time?

kreechur
April 20th, 2011, 10:11 PM
The installation progress screen will disappear in the middle of the installation. All i can see is the plain background. The mouse moves but nothing else responds.

Quackers
April 20th, 2011, 10:18 PM
Ok. It may be that the installer is crashing.
Have you checked the md5sum of the downloaded .iso file?
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/HowToMD5SUM

If that checks out ok you should check the cd for errors.