PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] cannot boot after using update-manager: no input detected

alex86
April 19th, 2011, 10:21 PM
I am new to Ubuntu, using a rather incompatible laptop (Gateway ID49C) with 10.04; by this I mean that I have problems with sound output, brightness control, keypad functionality, occasional freezes, etc.

Anyway, the Update Manager popped-up last night, proposing me to download some 400 Mbs of "updates" to installed programs, I presume. I told him to go ahead. After downloading, it proceeded to install the updates, and I left the computer unattended. Hours later, I came back to find the computer hibernating: it woke up to show me update manager freezed on some grub update, to my horror.

I shut it down. Now, whenever I try to boot, I find a very low quality 10.04 text with four white dots that "fill up" as it boots (instead of the fancy logo), then the user selection thing pops-up. No response from keyboard or keypad. Howver, the system is NOT frozen, since the visible clock actually works.

I can access GRUB (I have a dual boot) but the recovery mode does not work: it freezes at some point.

I don't even know how to get started...Any help appreciated.

Thanks in advance guys

Dutch70
April 20th, 2011, 12:30 AM
Do you get a grub menu? I can't remember for sure, but I think it's the shift key to bring it up if you only have Ubuntu installed. Try to bring it up and choose an older kernel to log in to.

alex86
April 20th, 2011, 11:03 AM
Yes, I do get the GRUB menu, but then what? The options I get are for memtest, Windows, Ubuntu, and Ubuntu Recovery. My guess is that I should edit some boot parameters, since its my only way to communicate with the system, but I really don't know what I am supposed to edit. Or how. I know that pressing the "e" key lets me edit some stuff, but that's as far as I go.

I don't have an "older" kernel...or maybe I'm not understanding you.

Dutch70
April 20th, 2011, 12:36 PM
Maybe this will help.