PDA

View Full Version : Can ubuntu clean my mbr from a tdl4 infection?

victux1
April 19th, 2011, 05:44 PM
I've been using ubuntu for several years. The 10.10 AMD64 version is going great for me, and I do everything with it, so that, today, I can proudly say I do not need Windows at all (or almost...)

My netbook is partitioned so that offers to start the grub bootloader or the windows bootloader, which in turn allows me to choose between loading Windows Vista or Windows 7. The reason I have not yet rid off the "dark side" is simple: Windows Vista OS came with the netbook, and I have found that, using my notebook with the battery, results to be the OS which allows for lower power and greater autonomy.

Using Windows 7, I've got a bellicose virus, and I fought with him awhile, but soon I realized that I got the MBR infected :-( (and nothing less than by a monstrous freak: @ TDL4 the MBR rootkit). I fought (various AV and ASpyware tools) from both the Vista and the Seven systems. The last thing I can remember is me identifying the problem in the MBR by using the aswMBR.exe program, which offered to fix it easily, and the computer restarted. A bad move, perhaps? ... Now, when I choose to enter the Windows boot I can select them, bat neither windows vista nor windows 7 are successfull. Both of them start loading but they soon give me a pretty blue screen of death, and then the computer restarts. Of course, I 've got no success even trying safe mode or the last known good configuration option, or anything. It's now quite impossible to start any of my two modern windows systems.

In spite of the days of study, I suspect that it might be an impossible task ... I can only use Ubuntu now. Well, no problem, since from ubuntu I do access my data on the other partitions perfectly, and this OS is running smoothly...