PDA

View Full Version : Using Scilab, Have a look please!!!

leeyee
May 10th, 2006, 08:31 AM
Hi guys,
Do you use Scilab? I'm a student from an Engineering College, and study Information Engineering. It's neccessary for me to use these computing software to do some signal process or just plot some simple curve. I post here just want to meet some friends who are also learning these courses or just using Scilab as one of your tools.:p That's odd I can't find a forum of SCILAB although i did a GOOGLE for it, Ugh!
Thank you guys!:-? And sorry for my poor English:KS

hesee
May 10th, 2006, 09:50 AM
I've been using Matlab in my studies(telecomms/cellular/dsp). I tried to start using Scilab, but the commands were different/missing so I decided to stay Matlab/windows till i graduate. But Scilab looks very similar, and can probably do most of the same things. Surprising, that there is not Scilab forum (or can anyone correct this?).

Kannisto
May 10th, 2006, 01:08 PM
I've been using Matlab in my studies(telecomms/cellular/dsp). I tried to start using Scilab, but the commands were different/missing so I decided to stay Matlab/windows till i graduate. But Scilab looks very similar, and can probably do most of the same things. Surprising, that there is not Scilab forum (or can anyone correct this?).
Octave is great too try it out. Scilab just seems a bit unfinished (tamili fonts etc.)
Have you asked how much would it cost to change your win license to Unix license?

hesee
May 10th, 2006, 01:16 PM
Octave is great too try it out. Scilab just seems a bit unfinished (tamili fonts etc.)
Have you asked how much would it cost to change your win license to Unix license?
Actually, I was using Matlab in school lab. That's why i wanted an alternative, to be able to do some studies at home. Thanks for the Octave tip, have to try that one out.

hizaguchi
May 11th, 2006, 03:43 AM