PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] I need help getting a wireless connection

angel t
April 18th, 2011, 02:06 AM
hey all,

i am new to linux and ubuntu so i need a little help setting up a wireless connection.

here are the problems so far.
i have gone under System> Administration and there is no network option only network tools
i have tried to follow along with some of the other forums and tutorials and they have not been any help at all.
my wired connection works just fine but for some reason i cant connect wirelessly

when i type in lswp this is what i get.... i have no idea what i need to do...

*-network
description: Network controller
product: BCM4311 802.11b/g WLAN
vendor: Broadcom Corporation
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:0b:00.0
version: 01
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm msi pciexpress bus_master cap_list
configuration: driver=b43-pci-bridge latency=0
resources: irq:17 memory:fe8fc000-fe8fffff
*-network
description: Ethernet interface
product: BCM4401-B0 100Base-TX
vendor: Broadcom Corporation
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:03:00.0
logical name: eth0
version: 02
serial: 00:1c:23:82:f7:bd
size: 100MB/s
capacity: 100MB/s
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm bus_master cap_list ethernet physical mii 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd autonegotiation
configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=b44 driverversion=2.0 duplex=full ip=192.168.0.5 latency=64 link=yes multicast=yes port=twisted pair speed=100MB/s
resources: irq:21 memory:fe5fe000-fe5fffff
*-network DISABLED
description: Wireless interface
physical id: 2
logical name: wlan0
serial: 00:1c:26:1b:0e:44
capabilities: ethernet physical wireless
configuration: broadcast=yes multicast=yes wireless=IEEE 802.11bg

obviously my wireless interface is disabled but how do i get it enabled and get online wirelessly? any help could be great..
if it helps i have it installed on a dell inspiron 1521 computer that is using vista as its other operating system.. thank you :)

\

Ghostmn