PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] ubuntu 10.10 boot from portable hard drive/ grub issue

jacob.harris9799
April 17th, 2011, 10:52 PM
Hey guys!

I'm a week into using ubuntu and i've hit several roadblocks.. I am running vista and U10.10 on a compaq CQ60, and ive been having the wireless hardware button issues. but thats beside the point

Somehow my ubuntu partition decided to erase itself. so today i go through the steps to boot from my portable hard drive, and install it again. I follow the steps to the T. change the boot order so it will boot from the phd.. choose boot ubuntu.

then it loads grub... it has done this since friday (it is now sunday). I am not experienced with grub or any command line stuff at all, other than i get how to type it in, lol.

any help is greatly appreciated!!! ( i have a paper due wednesday!!!)

sidenote: due to unknown reasons, my computer will not write cd's, so I have to use the usb method.

thanks so much!

Dutch70
April 17th, 2011, 11:29 PM
Hi and welcome to UF

It's not clear at all what you're problem is, therefore helping you solve it is even more difficult. Ubuntu partitions don't erase themselves.

then it loads grub... it has done this since friday

Are you saying it's been loading grub since Friday?

Remember...we're not there looking at your computer. The more clear you make things, the more likely you are to get help. Every sentence you type, ask yourself..."how might this be perceived incorrectly?"

jacob.harris9799
April 18th, 2011, 12:17 AM
Sorry about the confusion!

at the dual boot screen, when i choose ubuntu.

it displays something in the top left corner of the screen, something about NTFS, but it is so quick i cant catch it all.

immedieately after that it opens a screen that says GNU GRUB (version number)

it has a short bit about "minimal BASH- like command line editing"

then for the command line it has

grub>

any thing i can do to give more info?