PDA

View Full Version : [xubuntu] system freezes randomly

undomiel25
April 16th, 2011, 08:18 PM
Hi!
I have just installed xubuntu 10.10 on an old desktop computer, a Packard Bell with AMD Athlon 64 3400+ 2200MHz and 512 MB of ram.
I did install the variant for AMD64.

The problem is it freezes at random times. Sometimes it goes back to log in but it won't let me in, other times the screen and mouse simply freeze. I tried to monitor RAM and CPU usage, but it doesn't seem to overload before freezing. I can have several applications open or none at all, it doesn't seem to make a difference. ](*,)

Do you guys think it's an hardware incompatibility? Should I give up and try another distro??

I'm not an expert user, and I would appreciate any kind of help!
Thanks a lot!

dumplingz
April 17th, 2011, 01:21 AM
yes, this happens to me as well. My computer has 10.10 ubuntu and its a laptop Intel Dual Core 2.4GHz 4GB RAM ATi 5450 512MB and has 250GB HDD. Mine did exactly same as yours but i fixed mine by improving the cooling. I bought better cooling pad and soon after that it works fine. You should upgrade your ram because no one uses 512MB these days and upgrade your cooling system.

Ta :)

K_45
April 17th, 2011, 02:37 AM
I'd open up the system and clean out the dust with compressed air, then run Memtest and a drive fitness test to see if there is anything wrong with the hardware. Memtest is here:

http://www.memtest.org/#downiso

You want the pre-compiled in the .gz file. Download it, then open up a terminal:

gunzip memtest86+-4.20.iso.gz

then open up Brasero and burn the .iso. For the DFT:

http://www.hitachigst.com/support/downloads/

and burn the .iso with Brasero. Reboot and test.

Jagoly
April 17th, 2011, 06:31 AM
I'd open up the system and clean out the dust with compressed air, then run Memtest and a drive fitness test to see if there is anything wrong with the hardware. Memtest is here:

http://www.memtest.org/#downiso