PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Brand New Install (And User) Cloning A Drive To Another Drive

Glkanter
April 16th, 2011, 05:01 AM
Hi, I am a newbie and I have a brand new PC with only Ubuntu 10.10 installed. I have a 2.0 TB drive, with 1.4 TB 'unallocated'. Which is kind of my first problem.

I also have my 'old' Windows drives in the system, just as they were. They are a 1.0 TB SATA split evenly into 2 500GB logical drives and a 250GB SATA drive. The content on these and the formatting can be erased.

My system sees everything great, but I'm sure things could be better.

Since I have an abundance of space and physical drives, I figure my backup strategy should be simple and complete: Copy the entire Linux system onto one of the other drives in a way that the backup drive is bootable, and complete. I could make this backup every night. It's just no problem.

So, I know what I want to do, but I'm spinning my wheels trying to find the right tools.

Here's what Red Hat Disk Utility 2.30.1 reports for the 2.0 SATA drive:
Bios Boot Partition 1.0 mb
Linux Basic Data Partition 52 GB [Linux system only]
Linux Basic Data Partition 500 GB [all data files]
Unallocated space 1.4 TB [I'd like to make logical drives out of this]
Linux Swap Partition 28 GB

So, how can I copy all the Linux stuff and data verbatim to one of the other drives in my system, so that it will be ready and able as an immediately available replacement drive?

Thank you!

Please let me know if I was too verbose, or whatever. I want to be a good forum member.

coolbrook
April 16th, 2011, 05:14 AM
Consider the Clonezilla Live CD.

Glkanter
April 16th, 2011, 05:32 AM
OK, that's a fast and great start. I've read a few page about Clonezilla, until it got too dense for me.

Would this be a solution where a cd boots and does the copying?

I was hoping for a solution where the system would trigger the whole cloning to happen in the middle of the night. Is that possible?