PDA

View Full Version : Open Source Blueprints for Civilization!

MasterNetra
April 14th, 2011, 10:25 PM
The Video:
http://www.ted.com/talks/marcin_jakubowski.html

"Using wikis and digital fabrication tools, TED Fellow Marcin Jakubowski is open-sourcing the blueprints for 50 farm machines, allowing anyone to build their own tractor or harvester from scratch. And that's only the first step in a project to write an instruction set for an entire self-sustaining village ..."

If you for some reason you can't play it like me, try downloading it. The amusing thing with that is you most likely end up playing it instead or at least that's how it is for me.

Their website:
http://openfarmtech.org

tgalati4
April 14th, 2011, 11:39 PM
Neat idea, except it creates another problem: overpopulation.

Tibuda
April 14th, 2011, 11:43 PM

how?

CreativeReach
April 15th, 2011, 01:58 AM
definitly looking in to this! I am a DIY Engineer type.

earthpigg
April 15th, 2011, 02:08 AM

my solution, in their shoes, would be to put documentation up pointing out that it takes 100 acres of meat-producing farmland to generate the same vitamins and calories and whatnot as 10 acres dedicated to plants (legumes, veggies, wheat, etc). [citation needed] <-- i can google some citations if anyone really wants. or you can do it yourself, this isn't a support thread. :P

similar to the Ubuntu approach - make the proprietary stuff available, but make it clear why it is preferable to use Free Software when practical.

(i do eat meat, for the record, and have much proprietary software installed on my Ubuntu system.)

lhtown
April 16th, 2011, 02:55 AM
Earthpigg,

Take a look into permaculture ideas and you will find that meat can be raised responsibly, at least as far as land use and care is concerned.

In particular, Bill Mollison details how it isn't an either/or proposition of plants or meat, and how it can be a synergistic combination.

And yeah, I'm going to look up this open source ecology stuff.