PDA

View Full Version : [other] Should I use Asus for ubuntu???

mephistux
April 14th, 2011, 02:35 PM
Hey i am new in Ubuntu, i am using 10.04 now on my notebook, but i want to buy a new laptop soon and i definitely dont want to use windows on it, but i also want a quite powerful computer, so i can play games if i feel like and try some of the true power of Ubuntu.

I've done plenty of research and the laptop i like the most is an Asus G73SW, the specifications are great, the price is fine and based on all the reviews i have read (which have been quite a lot) seems to be working fine, however i see that kind of a lot of Asus' users have had problems when installing Ubuntu.*

So i just wanna know if it worth buying an Asus or if is better to use another brand. I want some opinions.
The laptop i am talking about is this one:

http://usa.asus.com/Product.aspx?P_ID=KeYVsP7c4mgNmh2B

thank u if anybody interested

Joe of loath
April 14th, 2011, 03:50 PM
According to 30 seconds of googling it seems to work fine!

Also, Asus build quality is great. The laptop I'm using was a class laptop at a school for 5 years, then it got thrown away and rained on before I pulled it out of a dumpster, and it still looks brand new. There is one scratch on the corner of the lid.

beew
April 14th, 2011, 07:10 PM
Just make sure that the laptop is not Optimus enabled or the Nvidia graphic card won't work in Linux even though the card is "supported" with Linux driver. Since most new laptops with Nvidia are Optimus enabled if I were you I would do some thorough research first, perhaps by writing to Asus (the sales people I encountered are quite clueless, some don't even know what Optimus is)