PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] installing U 10.10 alongside windows 7 on a custom made pc!

minasistani
April 13th, 2011, 06:23 AM
Hi,

My pc is custom made with the following config:
MOBO: Asus p7p55d-e pro BIOS 1502
GPU: Asus GTS 450 1 Gig
CPU: i7 860
8GB RAM
2 1TB HD, one dedicated to Windows 7 64bit Ultimate
Connected to my LG 42" LCD TV

I asked my friend who is a contributor to ubuntu, and runs a cyber security company to install it on my computer and he said that he will charge me $375 to do this. And then he said that it is not such a difficult thing, however, it will need a lot of tinkering with ubuntu before it works flawlessly. I didn't know what he meant and didn't want to get into it with him. I was wondering if you could direct me to the threads that discuss installation of Ubuntu alongside Windows 7 already installed and on a separate hardware. I don't wanna pay him that money and I'm very new to this. Also, I hope someone could explain what kind of tinkering is done before it works flawlessly. I wanna install cinelerra...

thanks.

Mina

earthpigg
April 13th, 2011, 06:31 AM
i hate to say it friend, but your "friend" isn't much of a friend if he wanted to charge you $375 for that. i want to call that person many profane things for trying to pull that over on you, but i will keep those profane words to myself. suffice to say, it upsets me.

OPTION 1:

burn a LiveCD and pop it in, follow onscreen directions. when prompted to "Replace Windows, Install Alongside, or Custom?" hit custom. point the installer at the empty 1tb hard drive.

later on, make sure you hit 'advanced' and tell it were you want the bootloader: on the 1tb ubuntu hard drive.

tell bios that the ubuntu hard drive is the primary hard drive (that is in the "press ___ to enter setup" thing when you first turn on computer)

here is the "tinkering" is spoke of....

Once Ubuntu is installed, go to applications -> accessories -> terminal and type this in: