PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Migrate install from desktop to laptop

kpm1
April 12th, 2011, 07:49 PM
Complete Ubuntu newbie here...I have a couple of older Windows systems that I'm wanting to migrate to Ubuntu. One is an IBM Thinkpad X40 laptop, and the other is a Dell Dimension desktop.

There is no CD in the laptop and the USB ports don't work anymore. So, I took the HDD from the laptop and connected to the Dell desktop (IDE) and installed 10.10 on the laptop HDD via USB. All good - seems to run fine on the Dell.

Then, put the HDD back into the Thinkpad and nothing...

Am I foolish, and is this process just not possible?

Thanks in advance.

sanguinoso
April 12th, 2011, 07:52 PM
By nothing do you mean it doesn't even show POST messages from the motherboard? Or it just fails to boot? Can you see the hard drive in the bios?

3Miro
April 12th, 2011, 07:53 PM
Just a guess: when you connected the laptop HDD you still had your desktop HDD connected as well.

If you are going to install Linux this way, then make sure you have no other disks connected to your machine.

If this isn't the case, then make sure you don't install any special drivers on your desktop. Your laptop has different hardware and may or may not need those.

If this isn't helping, post here EXACTLY what is happening i.e. what do you mean by "nothing".

kpm1
April 12th, 2011, 08:02 PM
I apologize, not very descriptive...

When powering up the laptop, after the BIOS screen shows, the screen is left with just a blinking cursor at the upper left.

I can enter setup screen. I can enter boot setup, which lists the HDD in the option.

Does that help?

kpm1
April 12th, 2011, 08:04 PM
Also, I DID have the desktop HDD connected when I did the install. Is it possible to re-install with the desktop HDD disconnected? If that may resolve the issue?

sanguinoso
April 12th, 2011, 08:29 PM