PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Can the Same Windows Open Automatically on the Desktop upon Booting the System?

mikodo
April 12th, 2011, 07:13 PM
I think this is a long shot; but it never hurts to ask! I am studying the excellent ebook "The Linux Command Line" by William Shotts, Jr.. When studying it, I like to have other windows open to utilize in the studies; especially a Terminal window; a Nano text editor window and a Nautilus window.

I shut my desktop off when I am not home; I dislike having to open and align my windows mentioned above each time to my liking.

Question: Is there a way to have my desktop, open automatically upon booting to way I like it?

See a screenshot below of the desktop.

Thanks.

MBybee
April 12th, 2011, 07:20 PM
Just set it under system|preferences|startup applications

Or, depending on WM, there's also often a 'save session' option.

mikodo
April 12th, 2011, 08:01 PM
Just set it under system|preferences|startup applications

Or, depending on WM, there's also often a 'save session' option.

Thanks MBybee,

I'll play with these suggestions.

:D

Blasphemist
April 12th, 2011, 08:12 PM
If you suspend instead of shut down, when you power back up and log in the session will be as you left it.

mikodo
April 12th, 2011, 08:36 PM
Well a little searching shows we in Ubuntu used to have features like this in earlier releases, but apparently no more.

See this page about inquiries about it, with threads:

http://www.google.com/cse?cx=012285703143635244993%3Ai9yr8qlpb18&q=save+session&sa=Search&siteurl=crunchbang.org%2Fubuntu-search-engine%2F

The suspend feature works like quick-silver!

Hibernation works for this too!

Thanks Blasphemist. ;)

I guess I will mark this as solved.

mikodo
April 13th, 2011, 12:36 AM
I really am happy with the use of Suspend and Hibernation, (with my hardware), for maintaining my desktop with the windows I want on it.