PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Installing Ubuntu and grub 2 on a second hard drive.

lynchy67
April 11th, 2011, 03:03 PM
Hi All newbie here.

I've been reading and searching the forums here and most of the problems I have read about stem from writing the grub2 to the MBR of the primary drive.

So i'm trying to avoid these problems if possible.

Heres what I'm trying to achieve.

I have two seperate hard drives in my PC, on the first is Vista Home Premium 64bit.
The second drive is now completely empty and has just been reformated to NTFS with the standard 4096 setting.

I would like to install Ubuntu 10.10 and grub2 onto the second drive so that nothing is written to the primary drive at all. In a thread I read it mentioned that to do this I would need to use a "Specify Partitions Manually (Advanced)" option.

My thinking is that I can just use the same process I'm using to run Ubuntu from a dvd disk to start Ubuntu once installed on the second drive. The process is an F10 "Boot Menu" when the computer is first turned on just before it starts to run Vista.

So my question is about the advanced installer options.
Is there a walkthough available anywhere? (with screenshots maybe).
I'm just worried that something may come up in the advanced installer that I have no knowlege of.

I can re-format the second drive again from within Ubuntu running from disk if I need to (NTFS???). Also when running Ubuntu from disk I can still see the main primary drive and all its files. It would be nice to have this option but its not essential.

My system.
Windows Vista Home Premium 6.0.2002 SP2 Build 6002.
64 Bit, Intel Q8200 Quad core, 8GB Ram, Nvidia 9600GT 512MB

Thanks you in advance for any help you can give.

Dutch70
April 11th, 2011, 04:34 PM
Hi and welcome to UF