PDA

View Full Version : What do you think of slackware?

Dustin2128
April 4th, 2011, 11:52 PM
I've been using slackware as my sole desktop OS for a few months now, but I got fed up with lack of dependency resolution so I installed a mint side by side today. Slack was a pain to get set up, but once it was, it was excellent to work with.

Technoviking
April 5th, 2011, 12:04 AM
I always enjoyed using Slackware on a server, but never had much luck or love using it on a laptop (which I usually use for a desktop).

T-V

bodhi.zazen
April 5th, 2011, 12:07 AM
I like Slackware, but the biggest downside is exactly that - small repos.

If I am going to go through the effort of using slackbuilds, well then I am going to go with Arch or Gentoo.

There are some interesting spinoffs including Zenwalk (I want to check out the openbox version) and Slax.

Still, I tend to use Arch over Slackware.

andrew.46
April 5th, 2011, 01:05 AM
I've been using slackware as my sole desktop OS for a few months now, but I got fed up with lack of dependency resolution so I installed a mint side by side today.

There is of course no automated dependency resolution, such resolution is left to the user and is very, very effective with an experienced user.

Slack was a pain to get set up, but once it was, it was excellent to work with.

I hope you stay with Slackware long enough to install 13.37 which should be coming out very soon, it is a huge improvement from 13.1. I attach a screenshot of slackware -current as of April 5 running on my laptop which is pretty close to the release version, the kernel being used is not part of the stock release :).

Slackware is huuuuuuge fun and I would strongly recommend it to experienced Linux users and novices who want to jump in at the deep end!

3Miro
April 5th, 2011, 02:09 AM