PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] upgrade to ubuntu 11 fail

geiroffenberg
April 3rd, 2011, 02:30 PM
This has turned to be a horrible day.
I have enjoyed ubuntu 10.10 for a while on my dual boot setup with win xp.

Today i decided to upgrade to 11 beta, to give back to the coommunity.

Well, after the upgrade i could boot into ubuntu 11 one time, but it ran very slow.

When i re booted, it could not see my win xp partiotion anymore, and i can not boot into xp anymore.

But as it starts to load ubuntu 11, i get "input no supported" and the screen is blank. I have tested the graphics card and it is fine and works. thats not the problem. Ubuntu 11 upgrade messed up my boot system, and it messed up something with the monitor.

Im not a novice to computers, but i havent ran ubuntu for more than a few months.
However, right now i've tried everything in my power and knowledge, and am without a computer at all because of the ubuntu 11 upgrade.

It took a while before i could calm down enough to write this with out falling into the temptation and turn it into a hate message, im just saying.

/geir

Quackers
April 3rd, 2011, 02:35 PM
So you are not getting a grub menu when you boot, it seems.
In that case, during boot hold down the shift key. This should bring up the grub menu. Try the recovery item and see if that boots to a desktop.
WHat graphics card is in use?

geiroffenberg
April 3rd, 2011, 04:58 PM
So you are not getting a grub menu when you boot, it seems.
In that case, during boot hold down the shift key. This should bring up the grub menu. Try the recovery item and see if that boots to a desktop.
WHat graphics card is in use?

Thanks for your reply. i cant tell how much it means! i ve just tried to sleep for three hours because i got so depressed, lol!

Hi, yes i manage to see "grub loading" JUST before the "input not supported" comes up and the screen just turns to black, with that warning sign blinking.

nvidea geforce (cant remember the number right now)