PDA

View Full Version : nvidia drivers..

keewong
April 3rd, 2011, 06:06 AM
I'm sorry - Total and Complete Noob here. Although total and complete mean the same thing, I needed it to hit home the fact I am an utter moron when it comes to this ubuntu and linux in all its entirety.

That being said, I can't figure out how to install the nvidia drivers for my nvidia 8800 GT video card. I've followed some other posts and all the posts seemed either incomplete, or led me down a path of which eventually broke my installation, that I needed to reinstall the entire ubuntu system.

Again, it may not have been broken, i just didnt know how to get back in to the gui version of ubuntu, the instructions took me to the console terminal

So now,

1.) I've installed the ubuntu 10.10 64bit for i386 in an oracle virtualBox..

2.) downloaded from nvidia.com "NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-260.19.44.run"

3.) Stuck don't know what to do.

any help or point in the right direction would be greatly appreciated, as I have an assignment due needing to use this for Thursday.

Hedgehog1
April 3rd, 2011, 06:25 AM
You are running Ubuntu as a guest OS in Vbox? I am guessing the host OS is Windows (host OS it not really important, just curious).

Here is the thing: The only nvidia drivers you need are the ones in Windows - Vbox has it own set of video and mouse 'drivers' and the .iso to load them is already on your PC.

Fire up the Ubuntu Vbox, and select the 'install guest additions' once it is running:

http://img855.imageshack.us/img855/9451/vboxuseradd01.png

This load the iso as a virtual 'cd'.

Next, use the 'places' menu to mount the CD:

http://img189.imageshack.us/img189/2020/vboxuseradd02.png

The run the install:

http://img845.imageshack.us/img845/5472/vboxuseradd03.png

After it completes, reboot the vbox.

The Hedge

:KS