PDA

View Full Version : Who's your favorite philosopher?

brawnypandora0
April 2nd, 2011, 07:37 AM
I love Nietzsche's writings. I think his philosophy encourages the human will and psyche to live in its rawest and most essential form, no matter how twisted or perverted it may be.

matthew.ball
April 2nd, 2011, 08:09 AM
Bertrand Russell by far.

At the moment, I am an undergraduate in philosophy at ANU (which is a top university in the analytic tradition) and at some point, I plan on doing graduate studies in metaphysics.

Most of my philosophical influences come from early 20th century analytic philosophers - Frege and Tarski in particular. Though there are some later figures like Dummett and Kripke.

gnomeuser
April 2nd, 2011, 12:33 PM
David Hume

Legeril
April 2nd, 2011, 12:36 PM
Bill Hicks

gutterslob
April 2nd, 2011, 12:48 PM
Ayrton Senna

handy
April 2nd, 2011, 01:04 PM
I like the Northern Buddhist philosophies. I find the Evans-Wentz edited, 3rd edition (or later includes a wonderful commentary by Carl Jung) of The Tibetan Book of the Dead, (Oxford Press) to be by far the most fascinating & thought provoking book that I have ever read.

That doesn't really answer the question, as the philosophies, understandings & practices that such have led to, have been developing for many thousands of years. Long before Buddhism, & its parent group of philosophies that fall under the umbrella of Hinduism.

It is true that some of the above have sects that are more religious than others. Those that I am drawn to are adherents to the scientific studies of existence/consciousness via varieties of practical disciplines which bring about education & growth through inner experience.

treesurf
April 2nd, 2011, 01:10 PM
I can't say I have an absolute favorite, but handy you should like my answer:

Nagarjuna

realzippy
April 2nd, 2011, 01:30 PM
bomb20

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I9-Niv2Xh7w&feature=related

malspa
April 2nd, 2011, 01:33 PM
Coltrane's sax.

handy