PDA

View Full Version : Managing an Open Source project using Git

Spitted
April 1st, 2011, 11:52 PM
Hello.

I'm fairly new to Ubuntu (and Linux in general) and I'm willing to start a small C++ project at home for educational purposes.

At work I use C++ extensively, though on Windows. The tools I use are CMake for configuring, Visual Studio as an IDE, and Subversion as source control.
For the this project, I want to try, for the first time, programming on Linux with Git.

So I learned Git and created a new project in GitHub, but then I realised I have a problem:
My project have some dependencies on other projects (specifically, libwiiuse and libwiiuse-dev which are found on Ubuntu repositories, WiiUseCpp which can be downloaded from the author's site, and a graphics library which I haven't yet decided on).
At work, I just put the dependencies at my project's repository (sometimes as svn externals), and make CMake configure everything to a single VS Solution.
If I would apply this method here, the repository's folder tree will look like this:
/wiiuse/
/wiiusecpp/
/graphics-library/
/myproject/
CMakeList.txt
README
etc...

And everything will be stored at GitHub which seems like a waste.
Other solution will be to somehow "declare" my dependencies so people would know they have to get them from Synaptics or whatnot before compiling my project. I think this is not that portable because installing the dependencies manually might not be that easy on all systems.

I realise this is a VERY common issue. I would like to know how this is solved most of the time and what is considered best practice. Also if you have any other tips regarding programming in Linux I will be grateful reading them.

Thanks
Eyal

Barrucadu
April 2nd, 2011, 12:55 AM
You will generally list your dependencies in a README file or something - it's up to whoever compiles your project / builds a package to resolve those dependency issues.

SledgeHammer_999
April 2nd, 2011, 02:10 AM