PDA

View Full Version : Start In Programming

khaos1985
April 1st, 2011, 12:41 AM
I've Been wanting to get in to coding and programming but don't know much about it so I guess my Question is. "What is the best way to start and easiest to learn at first? " Cuz I wanna start with Unix based code and work in to other forms. I ain't a total newb and pick stuff up quick.

patryk77
April 1st, 2011, 12:45 AM
I'd recommend C++ and reading the stickies ;) (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=333867)

stchman
April 1st, 2011, 12:55 AM
Many colleges and universities have switched from C/C++ to Java as Java promotes better programming practices.

The choice is yours.

khaos1985
April 1st, 2011, 12:56 AM
Thanks for the suggestion as well as what kind of stuff would be better to start with, like simple type programs or just random stuff? And Any suggestions on what to start with maybe?

Some Penguin
April 1st, 2011, 12:57 AM
Read the stickies.

matt_symes
April 1st, 2011, 12:59 AM
And Any suggestions on what to start with maybe?

Python. 100 different answers ?

slavik
April 1st, 2011, 02:30 AM
read the stickies.

kurum!
April 1st, 2011, 03:30 AM
I ain't a total newb and pick stuff up quick.

No need to search any more. see here (http://www.ruby-doc.org/docs/ProgrammingRuby/)

slavik
April 1st, 2011, 12:15 PM
Many colleges and universities have switched from C/C++ to Java as Java promotes better programming practices.

The choice is yours.
Not to start an argument, but I see java code that goes OOM all the time. As well as threads that don't finish in a web app.

Java apps are responsible for more unavailability than C based front-end apps (web servers)

nvteighen
April 1st, 2011, 02:28 PM