PDA

View Full Version : Holy Wars and Ubuntu Haters

cafejunkie
March 31st, 2011, 08:15 PM
Greetings fellow Ubuntu users, developers and enthusiasts. I am interested in your opinion on Ubuntu haters (and haters in general). First a short background.
I've been using Linux since 1998. I started with Red Hat. I've used countless distros (including Gentoo, Arch, Ubuntu, Debian, Fedora, Mepis, Slackware and more). Not only am I a user but I am also a developer.
Now, in all of my years using Linux I have never gotten any "hate" for using any other distro. The moment I mention I actually like and enjoy using Ubuntu on a few machines I get endless hate from supposed "hardcore" FOSS enthusiasts. Now, if the hate towards Ubuntu was for legitimate reasons such as poor all around performance and software issues with the distro I would understand (afterall, what distro doesn't have their problems?) but it's not. The hate is towards the users. Both n00bs and gurus alike.
Now, I understand the hacker culture (I've been a part of it for a long time) and I know that there is a general dislike of n00bs but don't hate on someone who actually knows their stuff just because they use what might be called a "n00b friendly" distro. If you ask me, Ubuntu is great. It is great for Linux and it is great for users.
In a nutshell, I am sick of being disrespected and immediately discredited just for using (and recommending) Ubuntu now and then.

My question for you:
Have you gotten any hate for using Ubuntu from the hacker community? If so, what was your response? Are you trying to help improve the "Ubuntu User Stereotype"?

Tristam Green
March 31st, 2011, 08:25 PM
No, but I got hate from an obnoxious Gentoo user/Google Project Manager once. Interesting, given that Google (at the time at least) uses Debian for their server infrastructure...

lucazade
March 31st, 2011, 08:28 PM
"If you have no critics, you’ll likely have no success." Malcom X

http://img222.imageshack.us/img222/373/vizl.png