PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Kernel Compilation for 64 Bit

Naqib
March 31st, 2011, 03:51 PM
Hi everyone,
Just I compiled Kernel xxx.3.6 in ubuntu in Virtual Machine for 32 bit. However, I wanted to do it for 64 bit, I dont know what parameter is necessary for 64 bit. I am new in the world of linux.

Thanks for the help

3Miro
April 1st, 2011, 03:28 AM
Your system is either 32-bit or 64-bit. You compile the kernel for the one you are using. I think you need to have some BIOS settings enabled to be able to run 64-bit Virtual Machines but I am not sure what.

Here is the official HowTo about kernel compiling, I hope it helps:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Kernel/Compile

I am not sure what you are trying to do. Why are you recompiling the kernel anyway?

Naqib
April 1st, 2011, 01:41 PM
First of all thanks for your reply and I am sorry, I may ask stupid questions, because, I am new in the world of Linux.
In fact, We have a mini computers of 64 bit which has Ubuntu version 8.4 with the kernel xxx.24:
1. I have two mini computer A and B which are of same specification:
in A i installed ubuntu version 10.10 and compiled kernel version xxx.38. Then I installed that in the same computer A successfully.

2. Then I tied to install the compiled kernel in minicomputer B(with ubuntu version 8) but I received this message:
[start of message]
.................................................. ............................
Hmm, there is a symbolic link /lib/modules/2.6.38
However, I cannot read it: No such file or directory
Therefore, I am deleting /lib/modules/2.6.38/source.
.................................................. ...........................
[end of message]

however, it is installed. But when I did SUDO REBOOT, I could not entered to the computer.

Any Idea please thanks

Naqib
April 1st, 2011, 01:51 PM
The error after reboot is:
.................................................. .................................................. ...