PDA

View Full Version : Linus Graphics Drivers

jennybrew
March 31st, 2011, 03:18 PM
I believe Ive posted several comments relating to the Linux driver model.
Im not a fan and have some reservations about allowing executing code from applications into kernel space. At the very least this seems to run counter to the much vaunted Unix basic principles.

However, Im a novice, having just embarked on a training course, and dont have any
credibility in this area as yet. Maybe one day though :)

A company called Xi Graphics seems to share my reservations, and more, and they
do have credibility.

http://www.xig.com/Pages/Edu/LinuxGraphicsProblems.pdf

Any thoughts?

Npl
March 31st, 2011, 06:02 PM
"allowing executing code from applications into kernel space" - well thats a bit broad. If you consider OpenGL (or X-Drivers) as Application then thats true, but otherwise its just a kernel driver like IDE/LAN/USB sending data back and forth to Apps. No code passes from Apps to kernel-level, just data.
This data can be problematic however because the format is very flexible/complicated and could be used for exploits - in other words you need to verify it before processing.

Whatever you do, you wont get around managing gfx-cards in kernel-space, just you should try to make this as simple and small as possible. The more you do the more can go wrong and you dont want thinds to go wrong in kernel-space (simplified). This is the drivermodel that MS uses since Vista and Wayland will do something similar, the X-driver model cant die soon enough

jennybrew
March 31st, 2011, 07:42 PM
". This is the drivermodel that MS uses since Vista and Wayland will do something similar, the X-driver model cant die soon enough

Company are sponsoring me through a Windows system development course. If Im successful I will be able to join the dev team. Im not sure if Ill get through the course though as it looks difficult ..and guess what ..it is!