PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] NEWBIE: No root directory

jakefish
March 31st, 2011, 11:44 AM
Hello folks, I am brand new to Ubuntu and I love it !!!

I am currently running it from a usb pendrive, However when i try and install it to my harddrive, it says 'no root file system is defined, Please correct this from the partitioning menu'

So I have been in Gparted and formatted the hard drive to EXT3, but cant seem to mount it or indeed 'define a root file'

Please help, I will forever be in your debt

Jakefish

Sean Moran
March 31st, 2011, 11:58 AM
Hello folks, I am brand new to Ubuntu and I love it !!!

I am currently running it from a usb pendrive, However when i try and install it to my harddrive, it says 'no root file system is defined, Please correct this from the partitioning menu'

So I have been in Gparted and formatted the hard drive to EXT3, but cant seem to mount it or indeed 'define a root file'

Please help, I will forever be in your debt

Jakefish
If you can, try and start out with a plain old Live-CD. That makes it so much easier.

If not, please explain exactly how you created a Live-USB on your pen-drive, and there maybe someway to tackle the problems, however a working Live-CD makes everything so much easier to work out, if you can do it.

--o0o---

First and foremost, is your Live-USB booting into a GUI and the "root file-system" problem encountered on the Installation part? I reckon not, but just to check. I assume the problem pertains to a badly built USB distro, but could be wrong.

jakefish
March 31st, 2011, 01:26 PM
Thanks for your prompt reply,

I have the same problem when i run from cd too.

I made the usb, with the online builder.

jakefish
March 31st, 2011, 01:29 PM
First and foremost, is your Live-USB booting into a GUI and the "root file-system" problem encountered on the Installation part? I reckon not, but just to check. I assume the problem pertains to a badly built USB distro, but could be wrong.