PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] install ubuntu on a usb

BaxterStockman
March 30th, 2011, 07:00 PM
hai,

i'm pretty new to this stuff, my windows pc broke and then i installed ubuntu on a usb flash drive and tried the try version, i was impressed. that's so much better than windows!

so what i wanna do is to install a full version on the usb flash drive, so that i can use it on any pc ('cause mine is broken now). so what i did is the try version of ubuntu and then i clicked the install button but it wouldn't let me install it right on to that flash drive, so installed it on the regular harddrive and thought i boot from the regular one format the usb drive and install a complete ubuntu version on it again.

but the question is, where do i find the install button or is their any? some kind of a program just like i had in the beginning ?

does this make sense ?

Hashiru
March 30th, 2011, 07:29 PM
Hi, this is what I think you want to do:

Have an Ubuntu distribution installed on a flash drive.

I did that before with Unetbootin. It was a while ago though, but I used this url to do it:
http://linuxandfriends.com/2009/03/05/install-linux-on-a-usb-stick-in-5-easy-steps/

You might want to change your bios settings to USB first. (Some old computers are not able to boot from USB. A workaround for this is install plop boot manager on a cd and use cd-rom as first boot)

Hope this helps

BaxterStockman
March 30th, 2011, 08:14 PM
yeah, that's what i wanted to do but as i said i couldn't install it on the same usb drive

i already downloaded unetbootin and used it, but it wouldn't let me choose the usb drive as that partition i wanted to install it on
so i chose the regular harddrive

but i want a full ubuntu version on my usb flash drive so i can just use the flash drive an no harddrive anymore

KegHead
March 30th, 2011, 08:20 PM
Hi!

Download current iso

Then Goto:
1. system
2. administration
3. start up disk creator