PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Desktop icons, shortcuts

mrush336
March 30th, 2011, 05:01 PM
hello all. Im new to Ubuntu and have a simple question? When I open a places location and then close it there appears on my desktop an icon or shortcut rather of the place or hard drive where I was. Is there a way to stop this? To prevent the icon from showing up? I notice after shutting down and booting back up the icons are gone. its a minor inconvienence but I have looked everywhere in the settings and cannot find a way to turn this feature off. Any help will be much apprieciated thank you.

~Plue
March 30th, 2011, 05:29 PM
you mean you want to hide the partitions from the desktop?
if so, press alt+F2 to bring up the run dialog and enter gconf-editor
then, navigate to apps > nautilus > desktop and uncheck 'volumes visible'

or, you could install ubuntu-tweak (http://ubuntu-tweak.com/) and use it to change the visibility of the icons (among many other things)

AndyCinDallas
March 30th, 2011, 08:54 PM
Bear in mind that it's showing you that it's mounted a drive or partition or shared folder (or whatever) - so you can always right-click on the icon and click "unmount" - and it's gone ;)

mrush336
March 31st, 2011, 02:22 PM
Ok thank you. right clicking on the icon that looks like a hard drive and selecting unmount does make it disappear. but is there a way to prevent them from showing up in the first place? im a little ocd about my desktop being neat and organized and i go crazy when programs put shortcuts on my desktop that i did not want! lol thank you in advance

mrush336
March 31st, 2011, 02:27 PM
ok i installed ubuntu tweak and unchecked the show mounted volumes box and that took care of it. thank you all for the help.

sorrow413
April 8th, 2011, 06:01 PM