PDA

View Full Version : Gnome 2, Gnome 3, KDE, XFCE, LXDE, Unity?

galacticaboy
March 30th, 2011, 02:20 AM
Which one do you prefer? Gnome 2, Gnome 3, KDE, XFCE, LXDE, or Unity? Tell us why, and being pretty is not good enough! lol Tell us why you prefer this one? What is it about that one that attracts you to it?

Mine is Gnome 2 and XFCE, The two almost go hand in hand, especially Xubuntu. I prefer Gnome 2 because it is what I started with and it fits on my computer better than Unity or Gnome Shell. LXDE is ugly as is KDE. XFCE is small and lightweight and also works wonders on my older PC.

acp77
March 30th, 2011, 06:21 AM
I have been using ubuntu for almost 8 years now and have always used gnome until earlier this year when I tried kde. I had been using kde based applications such as dolphin and ktorrent anyway so I figured I would give it a try. It was beautiful and quirky. I had too many problems getting my ipod to work and some issues with stability. I am sure if it becomes a little more stable and can work out the issue with ipods I would be using it still. So just the other day I installed xubuntu and have been testing it out to see if I like it. I just am not a big fan of where gnome is going and I find myself with a wait and see approach to unity. So I find myself in limbo, although from my initial testing with xfce it does have potential to win out as my default.

galacticaboy
March 30th, 2011, 06:38 AM