PDA

View Full Version : Unable to install 10.10 64 bit but 32 bit works fine

JRO4444
March 29th, 2011, 01:19 PM
Hi,

I'm very new to Ubuntu/Linux, but like adventure, and have my girlfriends old PC lying around gathering dust.

I installed the 32 bit 10.10 from CD without any trouble, but then decided I wanted to give the 64 bit version a shot. Unfortunately the furthest I got was setting my location/time, before it crashed on me.

Now when I try the install it either hangs with the Ubuntu logo and 5 lights, or if I change the boot options on the live CD, like nomodreset, etc it will give squash errors and fail. Sometimes I make it to the a desktop + login screen but I can't log in.

I've checked my CD and iso for errors but they ok. MEM tests fine. Since the 32bit version works I'm assuming there are some incompatibilities with my system and the 64 bit drivers. How can I track these down? Do I just have to keep changing boot options until it works or can I look for clues in all the errors on screen?

Here's my system:

MSI 975x Platinum PowerUP mobo, BIOS version 7.7
Intel 2.2GHZ Core 2 Duo CPU
Crucial Lanfest 1G 800MHZ RAM
Maxtor 60G HDD
ATI HD 2600 Pro 512MB GPU

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Dimarchi
March 29th, 2011, 01:46 PM
Is the CPU 64-bit? I would hazard a guess that it is not. That particular piece of information would help. E6xxx series CPU?

elliotbeken
March 29th, 2011, 03:17 PM
Its not the CPU as every core 2 duo is 64-bit

JRO4444
March 29th, 2011, 06:49 PM
Its not the CPU as every core 2 duo is 64-bit

Phew! I was worried there for a moment. It is an E4500 I believe.

As a side note, I wonder what would happen if one tried to install the 64 bit version on one that wasn't capable.

whych
March 29th, 2011, 10:32 PM
As a side note, I wonder what would happen if one tried to install the 64 bit version on one that wasn't capable.

You will get a warning on boot telling you your hardware is usuitable and the boot will stop.