PDA

View Full Version : [Sony Vaio X1] "(initramfs) Unable to find a medium containing a live file system"

Arc Linegod
March 29th, 2011, 11:53 AM
Good day!

I'm really new to Ubuntu. After seeing a friend run it on his laptop, I decided to give it a shot. I downloaded the Ubuntu Netbook version, checked its MD5 checksum, and used the recommended .iso to USB flashdrive tool.

Everything seemed to go well until after the Ubuntu 10.10 screen where I encountered the message "(initramfs) Unable to find a medium containing a live file system". I looked everywhere, even around this forum, tried the proposed solutions, but still, the problem persists.

I'm using a Sony Vaio X1 laptop with a 128GB solid state drive. I was wondering if the solid state drive was causing the problem. Does anyone have a suggestion on how I can get this to work? Any help is much appreciated!

Sean Moran
March 29th, 2011, 12:29 PM
Good day!

I'm really new to Ubuntu. After seeing a friend run it on his laptop, I decided to give it a shot. I downloaded the Ubuntu Netbook version, checked its MD5 checksum, and used the recommended .iso to USB flashdrive tool.

Everything seemed to go well until after the Ubuntu 10.10 screen where I encountered the message "(initramfs) Unable to find a medium containing a live file system". I looked everywhere, even around this forum, tried the proposed solutions, but still, the problem persists.

I'm using a Sony Vaio X1 laptop with a 128GB solid state drive. I was wondering if the solid state drive was causing the problem. Does anyone have a suggestion on how I can get this to work? Any help is much appreciated!