PDA

View Full Version : Shell Script Programming Advice Needed

bikepaths
March 27th, 2011, 08:20 PM
I am writing a shell script and need help. Using a text file for input, for each execution I need to read through the file to output a range of characters and place a flag to mark the start of the next execution. The range begins at the flag (or top of the file if no flag present) and ends at 500 characters, only if 500 is a period or comma. If not, I must go back to find the nearest period or comma, truncate my range, and put the flag there. Finally, I must abort when the flag reaches end of the file. This may involve awk or sed and regex, each of which I am an extreme novice. Can anyone suggest some simple ways to do this? Thanks.

deathadder
March 28th, 2011, 11:05 AM
Sounds like some homework to me =P

I find the Bash Scripting Guide [1] helpful. There's also a sed / awk primer that should get you going [2].

I would suggest getting something basic together that lets you read in a file and print out the characters and build up from there.

Post what you've got at the moment and I'll take a look to see if there are more specific pointers I can give you.

There's loads of helpful stuff from Google, so have a search around. If you're not sure what a command does you can Google it, or read the man pages. If you're not sure what some logic is doing you can always ask in the forum ;)

[1] http://tldp.org/LDP/abs/html/
[2] http://tldp.org/LDP/abs/html/sedawk.html

bikepaths
March 28th, 2011, 12:45 PM