PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Multiboot Ubuntu, OPENsuse and Win 7

ZekeGraal
March 27th, 2011, 06:56 PM
Hey everyone, I started with windows 7 starter. Then I dualbooted that with Ubuntu 10.04, (Which is now 10.10). I'm currently making a live usb for opensuse just to try it out. If I like it, I can install it next to the other two correct? I believe I just have to choose not to install a bootloader and then run a grub update. Is this correct? Any advice is appreciated, and I'm no noob to Linux either, I've been running Ubuntu for probably 2 years, give or take a few months, now.

Thanks,
Zeke :]

Quackers
March 27th, 2011, 07:25 PM
It may be better to install opensuse's bootloader (grub legacy) to the opensuse root partition. That is what I did. But that does mean that you will need to reboot into Ubuntu then run sudo update-grub (if grub is in control) so that the menu entry for opensuse appears in grub.
This way has the benefit of grub2 not having to fight with grub legacy.
There are, however, different ways to do it. Other people here will have used a different method and it may be advisable to wait for their responses before you make your decision.

coffeecat
March 27th, 2011, 08:43 PM
As Quackers says, there are several solutions, but I agree with his. The opensuse installer (in common with that of Fedora if you're ever tempted to try Fedora) makes no attempt to detect other Linux operating systems and will simply set up a dual-boot menu for Suse and Windows if you have Windows. Or Suse alone if there is no Windows.