AndrewxUK
March 27th, 2011, 04:03 PM
HP Pavilion Media Center 873n circa 2003
Intel Pentium 4 2.53GHz
2.0 GB Ram

2 HDDs - WD 350GB & Seagate 250GB
ATI Raedon x1300 video card
IDE controller on the motherboard - Intel 82801DB (ICH4) reported

Installing from DVD supplied with "Ubuntu Unleashed" 2011 edition (also tried downloaded 10.10, 10.04, 9.04 CDs - same result)

openSuse is installed on first HDD (sda) with no problems

Standard install hangs with the logo and flashing dots screen.

Text-based install hangs attempting to partition sdb.

I then pre-defined the partions on SDB using Suse as

30GB root ext2
200GB home ext2
20GB swap

Selected all the boot mode options (acpi=off noapic etc)

Then used Manual partitioning and selected to use this setup.

Install now hangs "Installng the base system" "Retrieving ntpdate"

1) What further diagnostics can I do? (I am a complete linux beginner).
2) Suse runs ok - can I install Ubunto from within Suse, if so can I use the Suse kernel within Ubuntu?

thanks

Quackers
March 27th, 2011, 04:09 PM
Whilst booting from the live cd/usb and at the first purple screen (with the little man icon at the bottom) press any key. Then choose your language and on the next screen press F6. Some options will appear bottom right. Choose just the nomodeset option and see if the live desktop will load.

Sean Moran
March 27th, 2011, 04:13 PM
HP Pavilion Media Center 873n circa 2003
Intel Pentium 4 2.53GHz
2.0 GB Ram

2 HDDs - WD 350GB & Seagate 250GB
ATI Raedon x1300 video card
IDE controller on the motherboard - Intel 82801DB (ICH4) reported

Install now hangs "Installng the base system" "Retrieving ntpdate"

I might be missing something obvious, but could it be related to the download part of the install, which can take over 20 minutes to get the apt repositories off the server/s with slow connections like I tend to have?