PDA

View Full Version : Too few users

Welly Wu
March 27th, 2011, 03:15 PM
In my family, I am the only one who uses Ubuntu GNU/Linux. I am a graduate student at New Jersey Institute of Technology in Newark, New Jersey USA and there is only one other student in my class that uses Ubuntu GNU/Linux. This is my second semester.

One of the unfortunate things about using Linux is that there is hardly anyone to talk to about it in real life. Almost everybody uses Microsoft Windows and there are more Apple Macintosh OS X users than GNU/Linux users at least that is what my experiences bear out.

Discussion forums and special topic Linux magazines are the only sources of information that I have access to. I tried to attend a local Linux users group in New Jersey, but they are not located nearby my hometown and they rarely have meetings anymore.

Linux has had over 16 years to try to gain widespread popularity, but the sad fact of the matter is that it is still relegated to usage by the minority.

When I do try to talk to Windows users about Linux, they politely listen, but they wind up continuing to use Windows. I have given up trying to convert someone. They frequently cite hardware incompatibility and the lack of compelling gaming titles for Linux as their main stumbling blocks toward adoption.

I like Ubuntu a lot, but it is a lonely indulgence. I installed Microsoft Windows 7 Professional 32 bit in a 50.00 GB virtual machine within Sun/Oracle Virtualbox so that I can finish my education at NJIT until graduation.

I wish that I could write that things are getting better for Ubuntu users or other users of different Linux distributions, but I cannot find enough of the other users to gauge whether Linux adoption is on the rise or fall. I have to rely on statistics that float around on the Internet.