PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] 10.04, Java 6 update 24 has removed windows title bars from most windows in desktop

Tarhawk
March 25th, 2011, 11:56 AM
I am a ubuntu novice.
I am running 10.04 LTS on a Lenova laptop. Run´s fine. Yesterday upgraded firefox and upgraded Java 6 from update 20 to update 24 so that I could use the Zotero bibiliographic program in FF. After the upgrade and restart, the windows title bar that includes minimize, maximize and close buttons has disappeared from all windows that I open except google chrome. If I open and app, or FF, or the dvd player, title bar is gone. I have noticed that Java updates have caused similar problems before but none of the prescribed steps seems to have changed my system
I am pretty certain this is related to the Java update. Appreciate the help.

An Sanct
March 25th, 2011, 02:56 PM
Welcome to the forums!

For starters, try to restart metacity, in terminal or Alt+F2 type "metacity"

If that helps, note, that it will only help until the next restart!

So if it helped, set metacity to be the default in terminal execute this "metacity --replace &" without the quotes.

Tarhawk
March 25th, 2011, 03:01 PM
The metacity option did not seem to work. Problem persists in all program windows besides chrome (which is kind of strange too me).

An Sanct
March 25th, 2011, 03:42 PM
My guess is, that chrome has "his own" buttons.

If the metacity clue did not help, try researching other windows decorators you may have (compiz, etc...)

Krytarik
March 25th, 2011, 04:17 PM
Actually, you need to run

metacity --replace
via the Alt+F2 dialog, instead of just "metacity".

Tarhawk
March 25th, 2011, 04:31 PM
I have tried both metacity, and metacity -- replace with no change to my system. An Sact mentioned windows decorator compiz, which I do run. I tried fooling around with some of the compiz settings and could not correct the problem.

Krytarik
March 25th, 2011, 04:46 PM
Weird that those command doesn't work.