PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] no desktop resolution options

Newuser901
March 25th, 2011, 12:30 AM
I have ubuntu installed on it's own harddrive. I just pick the HDD at startup etc. It's has total use of the system. I have the 64 but version. And I belive this is ubuntu 10.10 64bit

Hardware:

MB: GA-ep35-ds3r (Gigabyte)
Vid: GeForce8800GT 512mb (Gigabyte)
Mon: Iiyama HM903DT B Vis Master pro 454

I don't have the options in system/preferences for changing the resolution. I'm extremely new to linux. I've had a class with unix but don't remember it and I think I've installed in the past but never really did anything. I can't find anything flatly giving info on driver install or driver reality in linux or ubuntu(not anything not written in such a specific manner it was of any help or for whatever reason.). Basically what it needs how it works differently from windows(or just on it's own). And I don't know why I don't have the option in preferences to change the resolution. What do I need to get my video hardware up and running? and what do I need to get full use out of my monitor? I think the test I ran from admin says 1028 X ? is the max resolution. I should be able to get 1900 something x something. and the card has more. What do I need to do?

Mind you I have some medical problems that make me a little slower than normaly mentally so I have a harder time. I won't connect resources quite as easily as other people. So sorry if I'm missing something obvious in search etc. I couldn't find anything on my own.

And I had it run something to scan for drivers and it installed one for the video card. I do have an option in preferences called monitors which has the nvidia logo and options, but again no resolutions for desktop and other desktop setting. The only desktop setting I have is for a remote one. Something is missing. I'm wondering if it is the monitor drivers being absent not making it auto do something.