PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Epson SX218 scanner not working

lawsos01
March 23rd, 2011, 09:49 PM
Installing all-in-one Epson SX218 on Ubuntu 10.10, printer and copier works fine but cannot get the scanner to work. Simple Scan gives error "Failed to scan. No scanners available. Please connect a scanner"

This model does not show up on compatibility lists I've seen but I'm *sure* I've seen a post describing how to make this work (obviously can't find it now)

thanks in advance.....

Stuart

jonkirton
June 20th, 2011, 11:03 PM
I found this site, it works for me on Maverick.

http://www.avasys.jp/lx-bin2/linux_e/spc/DL1.do#productinfo

I needed to restart after I installed.

EduardoCR
July 25th, 2011, 07:34 PM
Hi. I'm relatively new to Ubuntu, and I share the Epson SX218 scanner problem. When I installed Ubuntu and then connected the Epson multi-function via USB, the printer drivers installed very smoothly, no problems whatsoever. But then I realized that the scanner part just wasn't there. The system didn't recognize it. Searching through the help forums, I found your comment, and although it's been a while since it was posted, I've followed your link and browsed through Avasys. To cut a long story short, I've followed every step of the process and still no luck. XSane software still thinks there's no scanner connected. Is there anything I can do to overcome this ? Is there any info you need from my part to assess the situation ?

NilsOscar
October 8th, 2011, 06:33 PM
I have the exact same problem. "Failed to scan". "No scanners available. Please connect a scanner". I downloaded the iscan-plugin-gt-x820_2.1.2-1_amd64.deb. Was that wrong? I have an Intel 64 bit processor and Ubuntu 11.04 64 bit OS on an Vaio Laptop. I have the Epson V600. scanner

NilsOscar
October 8th, 2011, 07:00 PM