PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Indexing into the vector from BOOST Tokenizer

m.dr
March 23rd, 2011, 01:09 AM
Hello -

I am using Boost Tokenizer to parse lines from a file. I am using the char separator. I need to index into the vector that the Tokenizer returns and compare each string in the vector to determine conditions. I am a little new to C++ (a few months now) but with a strong Java background.

So my main fileManager routine is such:

string data(configFileName_);
ifstream configFile(data.c_str());
if (!configFile.is_open()) return inputConfigurations;
while (getline(configFile, line)) {
TokenizerChar tokens(line); //defined as a Boost tokenizer with char separator
vectorTokens.assign(tokens.begin(),tokens.end());
inputConfigurations->assembleTokens(&vectorTokens); //here I have problem as defined in next snippet
}

so in InputConfiurations.assembleTokens defined as
-------------------------
void InputConfigurations::assembleTokens (VECTOR_String *vectorTokens) {
char* x = "SETUP"; //also tried string x = "SETUP"
char* y = vectorTokens[1];
if (boost::iequals(x, y)) {
//configType = vectorTokens[2];
};
}

I have tried various things - essentially I want to check if:
vectorTokens[1] == "SETUP" //the word SETUP
similarly I want to check for vectorTokens[2] and such.

What is the best way to do this - I tried strncmp, compare but in general get the following error:

src/Grains/InputConfigurations.cpp:25: error: cannot convert ‘std::vector<std::basic_string<char, std::char_traits<char>, std::allocator<char> >, std::allocator<std::basic_string<char, std::char_traits<char>, std::allocator<char> > > >’ to ‘char*’ in initialization

Hope I have explained the situation. I see that the Tokenizer has iterators and such but I need to find the value of the string in certain locations and decide based on that - and if I use an iterator it will be too many if-then and also very kludgy.