PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu Installer Hang

Jonapedia
March 21st, 2011, 10:35 PM
Hi all,

I am quite new to Ubuntu. I've tried it once before for a short period of time. Currently, I am installing Ubuntu 10.10 from a LiveCD on an old desktop. It's not ancient, it is able to run Windows XP at the moment. While this may be ridiculous, I do not know how much RAM the computer has, nor do I know much else about system specs. So far, this is what has happened:

1. Booted from CD and selected "Install Ubuntu"
2. Went through the installation process. Allocated 18+ GB of the tiny hard drive (around 45 GB) to Ubuntu. Got stuck at the "Who are you?" section because I had used capital letters in the username. Fixed that and went on to the next step.

Now, I am on the step where the installer window says "Welcome" in the top left hand corner and there is a slideshow onscreen to act as a "guided tour". Here's the problem: The progress bar is about 5/6 filled and apparently, the installer is "Detecting file systems". The progress bar is just frozen there. It isn't moving at all. Also, the computer itself is silent. What I am referring to is the sound of things like the processor or something moving within the desktop tower. On old desktop towers, when the processor is in use for a heavy amount of work, the sound is usually quite audible. The progress bar has been hanging there for a long time and I have no idea whether this is normal. However,assuming that this is not normal and is actually a problem, does anyone have any suggestions for me as to how I can fix this problem. I hope that if there is a solution, it does not have a high risk of wrecking my entire system.

Thanks in advance

Quackers
March 21st, 2011, 11:04 PM
Welcome to UF.
Does moving the mouse create any HDD activity or on screen difference?

Jonapedia
March 22nd, 2011, 11:24 AM