PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] wubi.exe doesn't do anything

gorellana09
March 21st, 2011, 08:52 AM
Hello guys,

First please excuse my total noobness. I have been reading about Ubuntu for a long time and now I finally decided to give it a try. I am now running Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit SP2. I downloaded the Ubuntu 10.10 and the appropriate wubi for it. I wish to install using wubi as this is my first time using Ubuntu and I wish to see if it is the right thing for me. However after 4 hours I now give up. Both wubi and the .iso file are on the same folder yet when I click wubi.exe I get the usual windows permission prompt and after I click continue nothing happens, no installation, no prompts, just nothing happens. What is causing this? I really want to give Ubuntu a try. Thanks in advance for your help.

Rubi1200
March 21st, 2011, 03:26 PM
Hi and welcome to the forums :-)

Is there a logfile?

Windows side installation logs are in your user temp folder (%temp%).

If you find the file post the contents here please.

gorellana09
March 21st, 2011, 04:32 PM
Hello Rubi, thanks for your reply. In my first attempt to install Wubi I downloaded the file straight from the link given on the Wubi download page. I read that the version might be wrong so to be sure i had the right file I extracted the wubi.exe file that comes in the .iso file.

How do I get the log to post it here? When I go to the Temp folder I am not sure what I am looking for, there are a lot of other folders inside it.

Thanks.

Rubi1200
March 21st, 2011, 05:58 PM
The logfile you are looking for should have this name:
wubi-10.10-r197.log

Just open it and post the contents here.

gorellana09
March 21st, 2011, 06:27 PM
Hello Rubi, Thank you for your great patience with a noob like me. I am afraid no such log file exists on machine.

ETA: everytime i try to run the installer a file called "pylA871.tmp.exe" or a variation of it is created, but no log file.

Rubi1200
March 21st, 2011, 07:13 PM