PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing Flash Player

Undermaris
March 21st, 2011, 12:20 AM
Hi All, I am absolute beginner with ubuntu. I have been trying to download and install flash player with little success. I have downloaded it and according to system it is installed. However when I am on the internet and want to listen to the radio I get a message saying I need to install flash player. Any help with resolving this problem would be much appreciated.

TIA Undermaris.

mikewhatever
March 21st, 2011, 12:42 AM
The recommended method to install flash player is from the software center (search for flash). Can you provide a detailed explanation of how you installed flash. It may give a clue as to why it doesn't work.

Undermaris
March 21st, 2011, 12:58 AM
I loaded the Firefox Browser and the loaded the BBC home page. All fine so far. then when I clicked on Radio 4 then on listen live it said I needed to download flash player and went to a page on the Adobe website to allow me to download flash player. I gave me several options of which version I wanted to down load, I chose APT for Ubuntu 9.04+ . It then another downloaded it and asked if I wanted to install it I clicked on ok and it opened another window and I clicked on the install option. It seamed to be installing it ok, then said "installed" . So I assumed it was installed, but when I go back to trying to listen to the radio it says I need to install flash player in order to listen.

jpcode
March 21st, 2011, 01:37 AM
I would use synaptic: click on System on the top left assuming you are using gnome, then Administration then Synaptic Package Manager. Search for "flash" I would use the non-free one but there are several choices and I don't know which is better. (Non-free does not mean you pay for it) click the box next to it and then select apply on the top. You should see a process for downlaoding and then applying. You will want to restart you browser and it should work.

mikewhatever