PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Twinview dead space, Compiz-Fusion, Xinerama, confusion/etc.

TheVrolok
March 20th, 2011, 09:18 PM
I'm a born again Linux newbie in that I've installed Linux distros a number of times over the last decade, used them for a month or two, and then gone back to Windows ... primarily because 1) I am (was?) a fairly hardcore PC gamer, 2) Have had a Lexmark printer that has (historically) had terrible Linux support, 3) Am a student and are often forced to use the latest MS Office documents which have not always been easily readable in Linux. So while I've used Linux before, I wouldn't say I'm much more than a newbie.

I'm due for a new go-around, and I'm going to try to make it work this time because I'm not nearly the gamer I used to be, and can work around school, etc. I'm still running Windows 7 on my primary HDD, but have put Maverick Meerkat (Kubuntu, but I don't really think it's a KDE specific issue) on the secondary HDD all by itself while I see if I can make the conversion. I just finished setting up my dual monitors (GTX 285 support a 24" BenQ (1920x1200) and a 20" ViewSonic (1680x1050)) which was actually a bit of a PITA as the 20" isn't sending/has corrupted EDID. But, I managed to extract the EDID from the Windows registry and set up the monitor is CustomEDID. Anyway, they're working now, but set up with Twinview and a metamode of 3,600x1200, so there is 150 pixels of dead space in the vertical region.